The Bookstore

Book 1

Grocery Girl

Book 2

In The Trenches

Book 1

Grocery Girl

Grocery Girl
Grocery Girl
Grocery Girl
Grocery Girl
Grocery Girl
Buy The Book
$24.99
Book 1

Grocery Girl

When adversity molds two souls in very different ways, can they reconcile their outlooks and embrace happily ever after?

Maree Davenport refuses to let a tearful past rule her future. After losing her parents at the age of five, the big-hearted fabric designer is determined to embrace her feelings and find happiness no matter what. So when she literally runs over a handsome new firefighter in the produce section, the hopeless romantic is certain she’s just collided with destiny.

Everyone Rhys Larsen ever loved has died. And though he may have hit it off with the pretty girl at the store, the haunted EMT knows better than to let her into his heart. But when an accident leaves her wounded and in need of care, he vows to nurse her back to health.

As Maree struggles to break through the grieving man’s walls, she fears his deep-seated superhero complex will make him unreachable. And as Rhys grapples with trying to protect the beautiful woman from his curse, he worries he’ll have to choose between doing the right thing and true love.

Can this conflicted couple reconcile their opposite takes on adversity and find purpose in each other’s arms?

Grocery Girl is the touching first book in the Green Hills wholesome, small-town romance series. If you like strong but vulnerable characters, emotional growth, and quaint backdrops, then you’ll adore Virginia'dele Smith’s celebration of joy.

Delightful and heartwarming with a strong heroine and a hero you’ll fall in love with, Grocery Girl is an uplifting, feel-good love story.

Perfect for fans of Sophie Mays, Rachel Hanna, Debbie Macomber, and Carolyn Brown.

Start reading this wholesome small-town romance right away!

Merchandise

Welcome to Green Hills T-Shirt

Welcome to Green Hills T-Shirt

$20.00
Flowers

What Readers Are Saying

Grocery Basket
Shari O.

“Authentic, relatable characters...a captivating story that delves into real human emotions.”

Grocery Basket
Nia Q.

“I really enjoyed Grocery Girl; Rhys and Maree's story is very compelling and sweet, and the character development was fabulous…”

Grocery Basket
Lenora J.

"Read prior to recommending to my book club - it was great. Waiting anxiously for the next book."

Grocery Basket
Clara W.

"This was such a cute story — the perfect "the world is ending so I need a distraction" book. It touches on some deep topics but still feels very lighthearted and the dialog is just fun."

Grocery Basket
Amy M.

“Very few books have caused to me to “feel” heartbreak and this was one of those few.”

Grocery Basket
Dayle V.

"This was a very sweet and touching story of trauma, guilt, fear, and how the power of love can break through all of that and heal."

Grocery Basket
Valor B.

"This romance is slow burn but generates romantic fire while being wholesome--good, clean story telling at it's best. You won't put it down. I didn't. It's a must read! I'm hooked!"

Grocery Basket
Scott R.

"I love the depth of these characters, the details in the descriptions and the interactions. This book definitely had me rooting for the characters and feeling their angst."

Grocery Basket
Cheryl S.

"I am blown away by the depths of love, fear, trust and understanding of why relationships are so complicated that Virginia’dela Smith is skillfully able to portray."

Grocery Basket
Carol H.

"Pure romance, with two lovable characters that the reader is rooting for throughout, and a small-town setting very familiar and comfortable for this Midwestern reader. Can’t wait for Book 2!"

Grocery Basket
Kris G.

"Loved this book! The characters were so lovable and relatable, I was cheering them on, and had to keep reading to find what happened next."

Grocery Basket
Michelle J.

"I am so looking forward to the next in the series, I look forward to seeing more of Maree and Max and the rest of Green Hills residents."

Grocery Basket
Anna Maria D.

"Grocery Girl is the pure definition of romance. You will enjoy this heartwarming story with a wholesome theme. It's as satisfying as a cup of tea and a warm quilt!"

Grocery Basket
Anne H.

"Immediately loved the characters in this fun and heartwarming story! Ready for the next one!!"

Grocery Basket
NB

"I had to read the book twice I enjoyed it so much. Love the romance and couldn't put it down. Looking forward to the next one."

Grocery Basket
Marilyn B.

"I still have fears running down my face. Happy but relieved tears. A journey of life created by fear. He had lost everyone he loved. The journey is long, but healing takes time. A fantastic book!"

Become A Green Hills Insider

Sign up to gain access to our exclusive Green Hills Facebook group and email newsletter.

Interact with other Green Hills residents, engage in fun activities, join town hall meetings, and be the first to learn secrets about the Green Hills community!